The trail was named after Sir George Maxwell, who was It was named after the Chief Secretary of Malaya (as Malaysia was known then) Sir George Maxwell during the British colonial period. George Maxwell was highly influential in the development of Fraser's Hill as a hill station and highland retreat. During his tenure as Ulu Pahang British Superintendent, he and his wife along with Lady Guillemard undertook efforts to develop the highland resort as a hill station. The trail was first opened in 1919 by labourers who stayed at the spot where Fraser's Pine Resort now sits, to access the sole radio at Whittington Bunglalow.
The radio was important for them to hear latest news on the war during that time. Later, the trail was abandoned in 1980 before being reopened in 1993 for tourists and visitors to experience nature. While the jungle walk is mostly level, it poses some challenge as its 2km length due to twisty corners and occassional undulating sections. The Maxwell trail is also notorious for its abundance of leeches; as soon as you tread some distance across the soggy ground, these blood-sucking creatures will rise out from under the leaves for a nightmarish experience - prepare salt or some suitable repellent.